Cinnamon Porridge Soap

I made this soap a while back now and the idea came from looking into soaping with oats and oatmilk and such and so this recipe was born.

The basic soap recipe

240g Olive Oil

150g Coconut Oil

120g Palm Oil

30g Avocado Oil

30g Rice bran Oil

30g Shea Butter

Additives

Some oats – half fine, half rough (no amount it really was just “some”)

I mixed the fine oats in with some red iron oxide and ground cinnamon.

Process

I substituted the water for handmade frozen oat milk in the lye solution and added it to the melted oils.  Once at trace I separated the mixture into two parts with a 2:1 ratio.

Into the larger amount I mixed in the fine oats, iron oxide and ground cinnamon with a little cinnamon essential oil.  I mixed the rough oats in with the smaller amount, and leaving it unscented put that all in the bottom of my mould, followed by the bright red mixture, lightly texturing the top.

cinnamnporr

After 24 hours it was ready to cut!  It smells wonderfully warming and looks pretty cool for my 2nd batch of soap!  With its red and cinnamon-y topping and thick porridge looking bottom I was fair impressed with myself!

close porr

And when it was cut it didn’t fail to impress me further.

cutcpcupcpside

Three weeks later I took this freshly cured soap into the shower and loved it!! It can be quite scratchy but I really don’t mind that at all.  It’s lather wasn’t great but the smell was!! I now like to use the porridge side on my face as it is a good mild exfoliant and the cinnamon side on my hands as its even more abrasive.  You see as a nurse I was my hands 20gazillion-and-one times a day — at work, but when I’m on days off its almost like my hands are so used to having the top layer scrubbed away so often I end up with a powdery layer of skin begging for a scrubbing!!  I found its not very good for body washing as it does not lather well, as I said.  However I have found a lovely useful purpose for this soap so it’s not all bad!

Leave a comment